Blog Awards

Blog awards aren’t something I have participated in thus far in my blogging career. I was grateful to receive a nomination last year for the Blog of the Year 2012 from Mridubala, but didn’t feel I could participate, as my blog was still so new you could smell fresh paint.

However, like buses, blog award nominations seem to be coming in threes (or even fours). I’ve had a few this past week, so I thought I’d amalgamate them and thank those who have been kind enough to nominate me.

I’m very grateful to Bette Stevens over at 4 Writers and Readers for supporting my efforts in the early days and giving me encouragement. Bette has kindly nominated me for two awards. The Word Press Family Award

and the Very Inspiring Blogger Award 2

I’m also grateful to both Gedwardsmith, over at A New Writer’s Life and Times, and E W Brown from the Blissful Blog for their kind nominations of my blog for The Sunshine Award.

As the Very Inspiring Blogger Award requires me to state 7 things about myself, and the Sunshine Award provides a list of 10 things to tell, hopefully answering the listed questions will fulfil the requirements of both.

Favourite colour: Orange. The brighter the better.

Favourite animal: My cat

Favourite number: 2

Favourite non-alcoholic drink: Starbucks Hot Chocolate

Favourite alcoholic drink: Gin

Facebook or Twitter: Neither if I can help it. What’s wrong with talking?

My passions: My faith, my family, my home, my writing.

Giving or receiving gifts: Receiving. To receive is to bless the giver.

Favourite city: Manchester, England.

Favourite TV shows: Big Bang Theory, Once Upon A Time.

And now to the best bit, a list of blogs I follow, all of whom can consider themselves nominated for one or all of the above:

Here’s some blogs which look at writing craft

On Becoming A Wordsmith

One Step At A Time

Courage 2 Create

Change It Up Editing

Creative or Crazy

Everest by Fog

Creative Writing With The Crimson League

The Struggle To Be A Writer That Writes

Organization and Inspiration for Fellow Writers

Cindy D

Writing Distorted Realities

These are more a Journal style of blog

Back to Basics

A Writer’s Fountain

Imagineer-ing

My Little Library of Things That Mean Something To Me

Writing Distorted Realities

Kimberly Mellor

S J O’Hart

Beccaaudra

Michelle Zeigler

Sufey

Ceondash

And these are nothing to do with writing, but a I like them anyway

Hovercraft Doggy

Secret Gardener

Midnight Run 193

7 thoughts on “Blog Awards

  1. catherinelumb says:

    Thanks for the mention doll! 🙂 I like awards – and like you say, the best bit is identifying other bloggers that you like and admire.
    Looking forward to checking out some of your recommendations.

  2. You have left one in your mind, can you remember it? Great writing blogs Lorrie!!

  3. Thanks so much for the nod, Lorrie. I am touched that you put On Becoming a Wordsmith on your list. I’ll be looking through all of the links you have provided as time permits. Time? What’s that? But it’s all good, this busy writing life. Can you tell I just received my book proof and got to hold my book in my hand for the first time? VERY cool!

  4. […] Lorrie Porter’s blog post, which I finally got around to reading (having been on a 3-day holiday), is a trove of writing-related blog addresses and blog awards which she has received. She chose to answer them all together to the benefit of all of us who enjoy seeing other writers’ links. […]

  5. Thank you for the shout out! Congrats on your awards.

    Denise at Organization and Inspiration for Fellow Writers
    Denise Reashore on Facebook

  6. Thank you for all the kind replies. It’s good to share. (Paul, I do indeed remember, but watch this space. Good things come to those who wait.)

  7. Congratulations and thanks for the kindness. There are few TV shows I follow, but I do love Big Bang Theory!

Leave a Reply

