Writing From The Heart

I’ve been asked to do my first guest blog post over at Everest by Fog. It’s a great blog filled with inspiration and writing advice and the general thoughts of its creator, Wm Luke Everest. I read it myself so it was exciting to be asked to contribute. However, when I sat down to put pen to paper I couldn’t find any words. It wasn’t the idea I had trouble with, I wanted to write something a bit different from my usual posts, something which could inspire rather than instruct, and that’s where my problem started. Usually I write from an analytical frame of mind. I read, investigate, and dissect the writing processes of myself and others.

Writing from the Heart by Lorrie Porter

This post is different. This post is more personal. I wanted to share. And you can’t do that analytically. I remembered a quote I’d read, which I shall misquote here. It went along the lines of “Writing is easy, you just sit at the typewriter and bleed.”

So I threw away my first draft and started again. This time I wrote from the heart.

If you want to see what I came up with, click the link: How to Keep Writing by Lorrie Porter

8 thoughts on “Writing From The Heart

  1. Lara says:

    Hi Lorrie. Thanks so much for such an inspiring post. Your words are beautiful. I love that you write from the heart – for me that’s what writing’s all about, but easy to say and so very hard to do – which means … you rock!

  2. Your post was brilliant, Lorrie. Thank you for sharing your very inspiring words.

  3. Ann says:

    so reassuring and inspiring to know that others are suffering the same way. As you say, you haven’t failed until you are dead and we are still very much alive. Plus I live and write on a canal boat too – maybe that will help to write from the heart?
    Ann

  4. Enjoy your inspiring and perceptive posts. I thank you for all of you continued support and encouragement. I’ve nominated you for another blogger award… Find out all about it at http://4writersandreaders.com/2013/04/28/the-wordpress-family-award/ Have an awesome week! Bette

Leave a Reply

