Writing Competitions for Children’s Fiction

Having been selected for a Highly Commended award in the prestigious Manchester Fiction Prize last year, I thought it might be nice to update my blog post on various annual competitions for Children’s Writers. Even though we can’t all be winners, it can be a real confidence boost for our writing to get a mention in the runners up lists.

pencil-holder DIY wood timber object design product table pens pencil office cute interior shop buy order online art accessoires

High Sheriff’s Cheshire Prize for Literature – Deadline: 1 September 2014.

Win Your Way to Swanwick – Keep an eye out for Writing Magazine’s annual competition.

The Times/Chicken House Children’s Fiction Competition – 2015 competition opens in late March/early April 2014.

Manchester Writing for Children Prize – Deadine: 28 February 2014.

The Bath Novel Award – Deadline: 28 February 2014 (YA accepted)

The Greenhouse Funny Prize – Keep an eye out for the 2014 competition.

Kelpies Prize – Deadline: 28 February 2014

Undiscovered Voices – Keep an eye out for next year’s competition dates.

Winchester Writers’ Festival Competitions – Lots of competitions to enter with this one.

Diversity In Children’s Fiction – Watch this space for news of 2014’s competition.

The Academy of Children’s Writers Competition – Deadline: 28 April

Picture c/o Hovercraftdoggy

10 thoughts on “Writing Competitions for Children’s Fiction

  1. Trudy says:

    Thanks for posting these competition links, Lorrie, and for stopping by my blog :-)

  2. Thanks, Lorrie. This was very kind of you.

    Russell

  3. Hi, Lorrie. ‘ve nominated you for The Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Find your link and the rules at http://4writersandreaders.com/2013/04/25/very-inspiring-blogger-award-2/ HAPPY BLOGGING! Bette

  4. Sorry I’m so slow to say thank you for the comments. I’ve just moved, and am all in a tizz. A special thanks to Bette for nominating me for the very inspiring blogger award. I shall have a think about that once the dust has settled.

  5. Thank you for these links. I had not come across these in my searches. This is very helpful.

  6. I shared a link to this post on my facebook page. :)

    Denise Reashore on Facebook

  7. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

